News

Helping Sophomores Build Career Connections

It might seem like a difficult task to gather 206 sophomores, dressed to impress, at 8:30am at the All Campus Dining Center. At Sophomore Career Connections, however, students relished getting an early start.

“I wish they had it when I was a student,” says Natalie Nixon ’91, an associate professor at Philadelphia University and one of 56 alumnae/i and parent mentors who participated in Sophomore Career Connections, a three-day program of networking and professional discovery for sophomores.

In its third year, Sophomore Career Connections introduces students to the wide variety of career options available to liberal arts graduates, with the help of alumnae/i and parents who work in an array of industries. The event includes several opportunities to network with alumnae/i and parents and informational, industry-specific career clusters to help students learn more about various fields. The industries included advertising, marketing, and public relations; arts administration; business and entrepreneurship; education; entertainment and media; environment and sustainability; financial services; government and public service; health and medicine; information technology and computing; international affairs and global careers; law and legal services; nonprofit and social justice; scientific research; visual and performing arts; and writing and publishing.

Steven Park ’19, who has already done some professional science writing, says it was great to learn more about his two favorite topics—scientific research and writing and publishing—and to have access to alumnae/i such as David Black ’81, president of the David Black Literary Agency.

“It’s great to talk to these experts who have all this experience,” he says.