Vassar Stories

What’s Your Major, Lily Elbaum?

Photo: Karl Rabe

Lily Elbaum, Class of 2016

Hometown: Evergreen, CO

What’s your major?

I’m a medieval and Renaissance studies major with an English correlate.

When I came to Vassar, I had no idea what I wanted to major in. During my freshman year, I declared as an Italian major. During my sophomore year, I applied for an independent major but was turned down, so I switched to international studies, and then political science. Finally, I moved to medieval and Renaissance studies with a correlate in English.

What generated your interest in Medieval and Renaissance Studies?

It really began before I came to Vassar. I took a gap year in Norway after I graduated from high school and was introduced to Norse tales and legends there. During my freshman year at Vassar, I read Beowulf, and in my search for a major in my sophomore year, I learned more about the curriculum for medieval and Renaissance studies and decided it fit what I was most interested in studying.

Can you name a favorite course you’ve taken here?

During my sophomore year, I took a course called “Detectives in the Archives,” where I learned what Vassar has in the library’s Special Collections. There are some old manuscripts that date back to before and just after the invention of the printing press, a page of the Gutenberg Bible, second and third Shakespeare folios – there’s lots of cool, old stuff. That intrigued me, and knowing how to find that material has really helped me in pursuing my major.

Another thing I like about the major is that you can work with your advisor to tailor it to your specific interests; you can slant it toward literature or toward history or whatever combination you want. I was able to map out my own course plan with courses in English, history, media studies, and Italian and craft the major I wanted.

Will you be doing a senior project?